Serious harms

Proton-pump inhibitors (PPIs) are prescribed for acid reflux and peptic ulcers, and to prevent ulcers and bleeding 1234.

ConditionHow oftenWho is at riskSource
Acute interstitial nephritis, hospitalised or fatal11.98 against 1.68 per 100,000 person-years, current against past useAny time in therapy51
Acute kidney injury13.49 against 5.46 hospitalisations per 1000 person-yearsAdults 66 or older, first 120 days6
Chronic kidney disease10-year risk 11.8% against 8.5% expectedUS adults; causality not established7
Low magnesium: tetany, seizures, arrhythmia19.4% of users against 13.5% of non-users; 1 excess hospitalisation per 76,591 treated for 90 daysUse beyond 3 months, mostly a year; diuretics; hypoparathyroidism89101
Clostridioides difficile diarrhoeaHigher in 23 of 28 studies, mostly 1.4 to 2.75 timesHospitalised patients111
Hip, wrist or spine fracture10% to 40% higher; hip 2.02 against 1.51 per 1000 person-years in women50 or older; high doses; a year or longer121314
Fracture in children20.2 against 18.3 per 1000 person-yearsHighest after a year; not significant against H2-receptor antagonists (H2RAs)15
Asthma in children21.8 against 14.0 per 1000 person-yearsHighest when started before age 216
Vitamin B12 deficiencyAt least 2 years’ supply in 12.0% of 25,956 deficient patients against 7.2% of 184,199 controlsUse beyond 3 years; higher doses171
Stevens–Johnson syndrome, toxic epidermal necrolysis, DRESSNot known; some fatalNot specified118
Lupus, cutaneous or systemicOR 2.9 for subacute cutaneous lupusWeeks to years after starting191
Agranulocytosis, pancreatitis, liver failureAgranulocytosis 1 in 10,000 to 1 in 1000; some fatalNot specified118

Nephritis can occur without fever, rash or joint pain 1. Magnesium normalised a median 1 week after stopping and fell again a median 2 weeks after restarting 10. Lupus mostly improves 4 to 12 weeks after stopping 1. Fractures did not increase in trials, generally 6 months long 14.

Other pathways it affects

Less acid raises gastrin and stomach bacteria and reduces vitamin B12 freed from food 18135.

Pathway or tissueMechanismMeasured in people
Gastrin and ECL cellsGastrin stimulates acid secretion through CCK2 receptors of brain, pancreas and stomach, and acts on ECL cells 3637Median gastrin 1.3- to 3.6-fold; ECL-cell hyperplasia; fundic gland polyps in 1 in 100 or more 118
Gut bacteriaAcid suppression raises gastric bacterial counts 1Lower faecal diversity and more oral bacteria in 1827 twins 38
Vitamin B12Pepsin, which frees food-bound B12, is not activated above pH 3.5 3521% of 175 with Zollinger–Ellison syndrome deficient after a mean 10.2 years 35
Calcium and boneAcid aids mineral absorption 39Calcium absorption not reduced in 21 women after 30 days of omeprazole 40 mg 40
EndotheliumDDAH1 hydrolyses ADMA, an inhibitor of nitric oxide synthase 36No significant ADMA rise or loss of vasodilation in 21 adults after 4 weeks of lansoprazole 41

Rats given omeprazole for 24 months at about 0.4 to 34 times a 40 mg human dose developed ECL-cell carcinoids, attributed by the EMA to massively raised gastrin 118.

What it is for and how it works

Acid rising into the gullet causes heartburn; acid can damage the stomach and duodenal lining, where ulcers form 442.

PPIs are acid-activated prodrugs that bind cysteine 813 of ATP4A, the catalytic subunit of the parietal-cell acid pump, covalently 4536.

Acid activation of proton-pump inhibitorsSecretory canaliculus of the stimulated parietal cell
  1. Prodrug (substituted pyridylmethylsulfinyl benzimidazole)
  2. Non-enzymatic protonation of the pyridine (pKa about 4)Charged form concentrates about 1000-fold over blood at canalicular pH about 1
  3. Pyridine-protonated prodrug
  4. Non-enzymatic protonation of the benzimidazole (pKa about 1)Second protonation at the luminal surface of the pump
  5. Benzimidazole-protonated prodrug
  6. Non-enzymatic acid-catalysed conversionThiophilic species; the inhibitory form
  7. Sulfenic acid or tetracyclic sulfenamide
  8. Non-enzymatic reaction with luminal cysteine thiolsAlso Cys892 (omeprazole), Cys321 (lansoprazole), Cys822 (pantoprazole)
  9. Disulfide-linked H+/K+-ATPase (ATP4A Cys813), arrested in E2

In the body

A dose leaves the blood within hours, yet acid stays low for about two days because the drug binds the pump 45.

Omeprazole inhibits CYP2C19, which contributes substantially to clopidogrel activation, and at 80 mg reduced its antiplatelet effect even 12 hours apart; the FDA advises against the combination 46147.

Activation of clopidogrelAbsorbed in the intestine; oxidised on the hepatocyte endoplasmic reticulum membrane
  1. Clopidogrel
  2. CYP2C19, with CYP1A2 and CYP2B6O2, NADPH through cytochrome P450 oxidoreductase (POR)OmeprazoleEsterases hydrolyse 85% of the dose to an inactive acid
  3. 2-Oxo-clopidogrel
  4. CYP2C19, with CYP3A4, CYP2C9 and CYP2B6O2, NADPH through cytochrome P450 oxidoreductase (POR)Omeprazole2-Oxo-clopidogrel is a thiolactone; ring opening frees the thiol
  5. Active thiol metabolite
  6. non-enzymatic binding to a free cysteine of P2RY12Irreversible; the platelet is affected for 7 to 10 days
  7. Blocked P2Y12 receptor

Omeprazole lowers rilpivirine and atazanavir exposure and may prolong high-dose methotrexate levels; INR rises reported with warfarin may lead to bleeding and death; less acid reduces levothyroxine, mycophenolate and iron-salt absorption 148.

Genetic variation

An inherited slow form of CYP2C19, a liver enzyme that breaks these drugs down, raises blood levels and effect: poor metabolisers, 3% of Caucasians and 15% to 20% of Asians, have about 7.5 times the omeprazole exposure of homozygous extensive metabolisers 45.

Benefit against harm

Benefit was measured over weeks to months; in prevention trials of median 180 days, gastroprotectants prevented 12 bleeds per 1000 2.

GroupBenefitSerious harm
Erosive oesophagitisHealed at 8 weeks in 74% of 83 against 14% of 43 1Fracture and magnesium risks rise after a year 1210
NSAID users, about 6 monthsUlcers 119 to 36 per 1000; complications 11 to 4, uncertain 3Adverse events not pooled; 7 of 12 trials company-funded 3
Ventilated in intensive careBleeding 3.5% to 1.0% in 90 days 4No excess death (29.1% against 30.9%); pneumonia similar 4

Without the medicine

How the recommendations were set

Non-prescription courses are limited to 14 days in the US, 4 weeks in the UK and EU 521218.

Stopping

After stopping, acid secretion recovers within days, and symptoms return in some people 4557. Symptoms were uncontrolled more often with on-demand than daily use (RR 1.71, low quality) 57.

A prescription is changed together with the prescriber 10.